SVARTSOT: Danish folk metallers reveal video for new single “Drømte Mig En Drøm”

SVARTSOT: Danish folk metallers reveal video for new single “Drømte Mig En Drøm”

Time for “Drømte Mig En Drøm”, the third digital single from SVARTSOT upcoming new album, “Kumbl”. And it reflects perfectly the authenticity of the record

“Drømte Mig En Drøm” is the oldest recorded Danish song, which is found written in the manuscript Codex Runicus, a copy of the Scanian Law from ca. 1300 and written entirely in medieval runes”, Cris J.S. Frederiksen, guitarist from the Danish folk metallers say. “The song exists as only one line of lyrics and primitive written music accompaniment, so we wrote a new, whole song based on that one phrase”.

“Drømte Mig En Drøm” digital single was released last week and is available here.

Although it is now quite a while since Svartsot has released new material, the band is still very much alive and kicking. In the interim since 2015’s Vældet, the beer-soaked folk metallers have been active on the live scene in Denmark and abroad, including appearances at various major festivals as well as at the prestigious 70000 Tons Of Metal cruise in 2019. After a change of bassist and the decision to shelve an album’s worth of material in 2017/18, the idea of releasing a collection of traditional folk songs that have inspired the band, reworked in Svartsot’s characteristic style, was spawned.

The original idea was to release this fifth album, entitled “Kumbl” (an old Danish word meaning ‘monument’ or ‘memorial’), in 2020 to coincide with Svartsot’s 15th anniversary. However, due to various practicalities, the album was first recorded — by none other than the band’s drummer and up-and-coming producer, Frederik Uglebjerg ( — during the pandemic.

In support of the album, Svartsot have been booked for a series of concerts across Denmark. Whilst only a few European shows are booked or planned at the moment, more will hopefully follow, if travel regulations permit.

“Kumbl” will be re-released in CD, LP and digital formats via Mighty Music on February 25th, 2022.

Simon Buje: bass
Frederik Uglebjerg: drums
Michael Alm: rhythm guitars
Cris J.S. Frederiksen: lead guitars, acoustic guitars (studio), mandolin (studio)
Hans-Jørgen Martinus Vork Rosenwein: tin whistles, electric bagpipe, mandolin (live)
Thor Bager: vocals, mandolin (studio)

Single pre-save link:


Online store

Leave a Reply