GRAVE PLEASURES – new single

GRAVE PLEASURES – new single

Photo credit: Tekla Vály

GRAVE PLEASURES Releases New Single/Video, “High On Annihilation”

On April 21st, Finnish post-punk outfit GRAVE PLEASURES will release their third full-length, Plagueboys, via Century Media Records. For a preview of Plagueboys, the video for the new single, “High On Annihilation” (directed by David Fitt and produced by Abyssal), can be viewed HERE.

Mat McNerney (vocals) comments:

“I wrote the guitars and vocals for this one with Elvis Costello & The Attractions, ‘This Year’s Model’ album in mind, that early Sisters Of Mercy / ’Burning Up’ by Madonna drum machine vibe. With some Roxy Music, Sparks & the R White’s Lemonade Advert from the 80s thrown in for good measure, and Buffalo Bill being our spirit animal for this record. The verse is very much inspired by QOTSA – ‘Era Vulgaris’ style Josh Homme riff like ‘Misfit Love’ or the badassery of ‘Battery Acid’ and that string tone of Jamie Hince from The Kills, giving way to the lush jeweled chorus with the conflicting clashing minor and major notes that put the Pleasure in the Grave. My first two albums in life were ‘License to Ill’ and ‘MJ’s BAD’ so there’s probably a red thread there of depravity. ‘High On Annihilation’ is recognizing that the world is going to hell in a hand-basket, but giving in to it, accepting it and going out with a smile on your face.”

The videos for the previously released singles can be seen below:

–“Society of Spectres”:
–“Heart Like A Slaughterhouse”:

Pre-order Plagueboys now at: – where the record is available in the following versions:

  • CD Digipak
  • Black LP (incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)      
    Transparent blue LP available from CM Distro Wholesale EU and (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
  • Yellow LP available from UK outlets, Levykauppa Äx, Nuclear Blast (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
  • Lilac LP available from GRAVE PLEASURES via Evil Greed (limited to 300 copies; incl. LP-sized booklet & poster)
  • Digital album    

Album artwork by: Tekla Vály


Formed in 2015, after the dissolution of singer Mat McNerney and bassist Valtteri Arino’s short-lived sensation BEASTMILK, GRAVE PLEASURES have defiantly expanded on what has been described as their “war-cry for the eternally doomed,” with each album seeing their song-craft reach new heights. Their raw atomic punk of their major label debut album Dreamcrash (2015) was revamped and contorted into the uplifting nihilism of distinctly more frenetic sophomore smash-hit album Motherblood (2017), ultimately amped up and finessed into the heady Plagueboys (2023), their most mature yet dangerous album to-date. With the electrifying contradiction of light and darkness, the duality of the funereal Grave and euphoric Pleasure in their moniker, Plagueboys is an exhilarating, tear-filled, grinning dance of death, undoubtedly their most pleasurable yet.

With music written by McNerney (HEXVESSEL, CARPENTER BRUT, ME & THAT MAN) and guitarists Juho Vanhanen (ORANSSI PAZUZU) and Aleksi Kiiskilä, and then arranged together with Arino and drummer Rainer Tuomikanto, Plagueboys sees the lineup, who frantically hacked out Motherblood together, come of age and find their superpowers. Recorded in Finland and produced by VANHANEN and his ORANSSI PAZUZU comrade Niko Lehdontie at the controls, the sound on Plagueboys is a blistering wash of reverb and neon warehouse dancefloor; unabashed lone drum and bass carrion call give way to synth and guitar interplay that brings to mind British grandmasters WIRE, THE SOUND AND ECHO & THE BUNNYMEN through a contemporary lens. 

 Plagueboys track-listing:

  1. Disintegration Girl
  2. Heart Like A Slaughterhouse
  3. When The Shooting’s Done
  4. High On Annihilation
  5. Lead Balloons
  6. Imminent Collapse
  7. Society Of Spectres
  8. Conspiracy Of Love
  9. Plagueboys
  10. Tears On The Camera Lens

On April 28th, GRAVE PLEASURES will host a special album release show for Plagueboys in Helsinki, FI. See below for details!


28/04/23 – Helsinki, FI – Kulmasali, Kulttuuritehdas Korjaamo ( *release show
20-22/07/23 – GER – Chaos Descends Festival 


  • Valtteri Arino – Bass
  • Juho Vanhanen – Guitar
  • Mat McNerney – Vocals 
  • Aleksi Kiiskilä – Guitar
  • Rainer Tuomikanto – Drums


Leave a Reply