LUMSK – new album after 16 years of silence

LUMSK – new album after 16 years of silence

The progressive Norwegian folk metal band Lumsk has been working in silence for many years now, and finally here’s a new album coming out on the 5th of May via Dark Essence Records. And it’s a quite special double album as well.

“Fremmede Toner” takes its name from a collection of poems by Norwegian author André Bjerke and his translations of the most famous poets in Europe and North America like Nietzsche, Goethe, Swinburne etc. This record is based on some of these poems and the idea to compose music to the Norwegian versions, and then try to mirror these songs using the original poems. The songs are not the same, but in a way similar.

In keeping with this concept, Dark Essence Records will be debuting a double single from the album, with Andre Bjerke´s “Det Døde Barn” and Conrad Ferdinand Meyer´s “Das Tode Kind” being the first pair to be released, and, according to LUMSK, this will be the first time that the band can be heard singing in German.

The two tracks can be streamed or downloaded from a variety of services here:

Musically, Lumsk continues on the path which earned them international recognition in the past; A unique blend of metal and Nordic folk music bound in rich textures and clever arrangement, this time delivering their most varied and intriguing album to date. It will be featuring new vocalist Mari Klingen and guitarist Roar Grindheim
It’s been 16 years since the last album from Norwegian progressive folk band Lumsk last released an album. They began working on this album not long after they released “Det Vilde Kor”, and the first recordings started as early as in 2009. However, life came in the way and since then they’ve been working on “Fremmede Toner” on and off until they finished it in 2022.

KAR215 Lumsk Fremmede Toner 3000x3000.jpg


1. Det Døde Barn
2. En Harmoni
3. Avskjed
4. Under Linden
5. Fiolen
6. Dagen er Endt
7. Das Tode Kind
8. A Match
9. Abschied
10. Under der Linden
11. Da Veilchen
12. The Day is Done

“Fremmede Toner” will be released on the 5th May in CD, Limited Edition Double LP in Gold and Turquoise vinyl and Digital formats, and is now available to pre-order from the following:  

US Webshop:

Having undergone a number of changes over the years, LUMSK’s seven-piece lineup today includes Mari Klingen on Vocals, Siv Lena Laugtug Sæther on Violin, Eystein Garberg on Guitar, Roar Grindheim on Guitar, Espen Warankov Godø on Keyboards, Espen Hammer on Bass, and Vidar Berg on Drums, and more information about the band can be found on Facebook page at

A video for the track “Trolltind” from LUMSK’s 2005 album “Troll” can be seen at

Leave a Reply