THE 3RD ATTEMPT debut video track from upcoming album

THE 3RD ATTEMPT debut video track from upcoming album


With the release of their second full-length album, "Egocidal Path" on Dark Essence Records, a month away, the 3RD ATTEMPT have given fans a first taste of what to expect by releasing a video of a track from the album. The video, by Lukas Jaszak , for the track "I’ll Do It Now"


Commenting on the track itself, guitarist/bassist Tchort had this to say:
"Musically this song differs from anything we did on the first album, or, indeed, on "Egocidal Path" itself for that matter. It’s melodic but old school, and contains some breaks that are perhaps a bit untraditional as regards Black Metal as I know it. And knowing that the lyrics are actually very deep emotions and personal experience made flesh, so to speak, the impact this has on the melody and the depth of feeling expressed in the vocals is that much stronger".

It is the strength of the emotions expressed in the lyrics that surprised video maker Jaszak and affected the way in which he approached the making of the video, as he explains:
"I like to work at night, but that proved impossible with this particular song with its seemingly simple, self-explanatory lyrics. But they grow on you without you realizing and before you know it, you’re thinking about ending it all. I know it sounds naive, but try listening to this on repeat, at night, with the words flashing on the screen – on and on.

"I tried to make this video as simple as the message itself, whilst portraying the feelings of chaos and desperation that consume the main character. We definitely did not want to get too literal with the subject here, and we chose to ignore the blood and razors and all the usual worn out clichés, and focus instead on emotional chaos. Although suicide may seem like an easy way out for most, I feel instead that it is a horrifying vortex of tangled emotions, and both the song and the video show this".

Given the intensity that both Tchort and Jaszak picked up on in both Ødemark’s lyrics and his performance, the vocalist reveals the anguish behind the song:
"When I first heard the music for "I’ll Do It Now" played in the studio, I felt that the atmosphere surrounding it was the perfect environment in which to talk about how, at the age of 12, I made a serious attempt at killing myself for the second time. I could have just described the scene and been obvious about it, but the music awakened something in me and I decided instead to write about what went on in my head, without resorting to any poetic artifice, artistic pretensions or judgment whatsoever. I therefore chose to regress to that particular moment in my life, something which, incidentally, was much harder to do than I had expected, and write the lyrics using the thoughts exactly as they went through my mind.

3rdattempt egoicidal.png


" I had to open myself up to being as vulnerable as possible in order to once again become that child who had decided to take his own life, and to write down his thoughts with total honesty. Some of it might sound clichéd, or even naive and childish, but I needed to keep the truth undistorted in order to create the purest, most honest piece of art possible, and align that honesty with my vision of what Black Metal should be"

Formed by former CARPATHIAN FOREST guitarists Tchort (GREEN CARNATION) and BloodPervertor (OPUS FORGOTTEN), the duo recruited Ødemark on vocals and Tybalt (FORTID, DEN SAAKALDTE) on drums, and released the band’s debut album "Born in Thorns" on Dark Essence Records in 2015. As Tchort recently explained, that album still had some of the remnants of the CARPATHIAN FOREST era, whilst "Egocidal Path", on the other hand, was written with a fresh approach, resulting in an in-your-face album that is much tighter and much more aggressive, with Ødemark’s lyrics and vocal range dragging the listener kicking and screaming into his own skewed universe.

With artwork by the Brazilian artist Rafael Tavares, "Egocidal Path" has the following tracklist:

1. Blood, Dope and Black N Roll
2. Into the Light
3. Reflections about Knives
4. Egocide
5. I’ll do it now
6. The Diciples
7. Black Metal Alchemist
8. The Oath


Set for release on Dark Essence Records on the 1st December in CD, Digital and LP formats, "Egocidal Path" is now available to pre-order from the following:
All formats:
CD and Vinyl:
US Webshop:

More information about the band can be found on their official Facebook page at or on the band’s website at