BUDGIE – Never Turn Your Back on a Friend – 50 years later

BUDGIE – Never Turn Your Back on a Friend – 50 years later

In June 1973, a little trio from Cardiff in Wales called Budgie released their third album ‘Never Turn Your Back on a Friend’. Recorded at the legendary Rockfield Studios, this album firmly cemented their legacy as a dynamic force to be reckoned within the hard rock movement of the early seventies. With their music being covered by the likes of Van Halen, Iron Maiden and Metallica, it is clear that Budgie have left an enduring mark upon the music world as we know it.

‘Never Turn Your Back on a Friend’ built upon the hard rocking and progressive elements of their first two records, helped along nicely by the now legendary opening song ‘Breadfan’.

Tragically in 2022, their lead singer, bassist and founding member Burke Shelley passed away at the age of 71. Now on June 30th 2023, fifty years after its original release, Pale Wizard Records plan to pay tribute to this awesome album.

Pale Wizard Records is a labour of love for its co-founders Tim Hilleard and Dan Flitcroft. In 2021 they released their first ’50 Years Later’ LP which was a tribute to the classic Alice Cooper album ‘Killer’. This was followed up with last year’s tribute to Bowie’s incredible ‘Ziggy Stardust’.

Pale Wizard Records intend for the ’50 Years Later’ series to continue paying tribute to amazing albums that deserve attention. They enlist a fantastic roster of hard-working bands from the underground heavy rock scene. Some of which they’ve shared the stage with themselves, and others of which they’ve previously admired from afar.

The 7 original songs are brought to life here by some of the absolute best the modern hard rock, stoner and psych underground has to offer. Additionally, Pale Wizard have enlisted some great artists to provide bonus tracks for this release.

The lead single for this album, which premiered on 15th May 2023 is Birmingham’s very own Alunah tackling ‘Breadfan’ which represents a fantastic contemporary, hard rocking version of an all-time classic. Budgie’s music lends itself well to a female led vocal, which is a tribute to the under appreciated high octane voice of Burke Shelley.


Budgie – Never Turn Your Back On A Friend: 50 Years Later is released June 30th 2023 and will be available on CD, limited edition vinyl and all major platforms.

Cover art: Sara-Jane Swettenham – https://www.facebook.com/sarajaneart

The CD and digital versions come with three additional bonus tracks.

The 12” vinyl comes in two variants:
‘Guts’ edition: blue and black vinyl with white splatter, limited to 150 copies worldwide
‘Nude Disintegrating Parachutist Woman’ edition: cream with black splatter, limited to 200 copies worldwide.

All the vinyl editions come in a deluxe gatefold sleeve with artwork by Sara-Jane Swettenham whilst the CD is packaged in a digipak sleeve with extensive liner notes


  1. Breadfan – Alunah
  2. Baby, Please Don’t Go – Firegarden
  3. You Know I’ll Always Love You – Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovell
  4. You’re The Biggest Thing Since Powdered Milk – Regulus
  5. In The Grip of a Tyrefitter’s Hand – Syncolima
  6. Riding My Nightmare – Great Electric Quest
  7. Parents – Sergeant Thunderhoof
  8. Guts – La Chinga
  9. Forearm Smash – Low Voltage
  10. Melt The Ice Away – Solar Sons

Website: www.palewizard.co.uk
Bandcamp: https://palewizardrecords.bandcamp.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/palewizard

Leave a Reply