STEFANO PANUNZI – new album feat. Jakko M. Jakszyk, Pat Mastelotto

STEFANO PANUNZI – new album feat. Jakko M. Jakszyk, Pat Mastelotto

Pages from the Sea‘ is the new album by Stefano Panunzi, out April 21, 2023 on CD and digital via SP Music and distributed by Burning Shed.
In the Roman musician’s new work, the reference that most frequently comes is the David Sylvian of the ’90s: sweetness, refinement and melancholy intertwine with keyboard carpets, dreamy guitars and enveloping horns. The coordinates are always refined art rock, much indebted to ambient jazz and modern progressive rock.

Panunzi‘s use of electronics is skillful, particularly shining on ‘The Sea Woman’, the closing track that sees him soloing between sweet keyboards, lounge beats and dark orchestrations. ‘Pages from the Sea‘ is perhaps a heterogeneous record in musical terms, but certainly the most coherent in narrative terms. It is not a voyage, it is a stroll. Or rather, a series of seaside strolls that often pause, linger, and lead the listener to admire the most enchanting melancholic frescoes.

In his fourth solo work, Panunzi was accompanied by an ensemble including Jakko M Jakszyk (King Crimson), Robby AcetoPat Mastellotto (King CrimsonO.R.k.), Mike Applebaum (Ennio MorriconeJovanottiZuccheroTiromancino), Markus Reuter (The Crimson ProjeKct), SirenéeSunao InamiPeter Goddard (The Mousetrap Factory), Peter DodgeGiacomo Anselmi (Goblin Rebirth), Fabio Fraschini (Novembre, Il Volo, Marina Rei), Fabio TrentiniStefano PetroccoCristiano CapobiancoLuca FareriAlessandro Inolti e Nicola Lori (Fijeri).

1. Which Truth
2. Not Waving, but Drowning feat. Jakko M. Jakszyk
3. The Secret
4. The Sea feat. Peter Goddard
5. You And I feat. Robby Aceto
6. Steel Waves
7. Every Drop of Your Love feat. Jakko M. Jakszyk
8. Swimming to Sea feat. Robby Aceto
9. I’m Feeling So Blue
10. Those Words (Words Are All We Have) feat. Jakko M. Jakszyk
11. An Autumn Day feat. Sirenée
12. The Sea Woman
Stefano Panunzi is a Roman musician. On his solo albums released between 2005 and 2021 (‘Timelines‘, ‘A Rose‘ and ‘Beyond the Illusion‘), and with Fijeri – a real supergroup founded in 1997 with the multi-instrumentalist Nicola Lori – he was often accompanied by talented musicians such as Jakko Jakszyk (King Crimson, Panunzi co-wrote two tracks on Jakszyk’s album ‘Secrets & Lies’), Mick Karn (Japan), Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree, King Crimson, The Pineapple Thief), Tim Bowness (No-Man), Richard Barbieri (Japan, Porcupine Tree), Markus Reuter (The Crimson ProjeKct), Robby Aceto, Thomas Leer, Nicola Alesini, Haco and Peter Chilvers, among many others.

Leave a Reply