AT THE GATES – Launch new single/video

AT THE GATES – Launch new single/video

AT THE GATES – Launch new single/video for “The Fall Into Time” off the upcoming “The Nightmare Of Being” album


Swedish melodic death metal pioneers AT THE GATES are today debuting the third single/video off their upcoming album "The Nightmare Of Being", to be released July 2nd, 2021 via Century Media Records.


Check out the epic track "The Fall Into Time" in a video-clip directed by longtime AT THE GATES co-operator Costin Chioreanu / Twilight13Media (Arch Enemy, Grave, Borknagar, etc.) here:



AT THE GATES vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant commented on the single "The Fall Into Time" and its video as follows:

"Hello everybody! As you might have already guessed, this album is our most ambitious effort yet, including a lot of different orchestrations and new takes on arrangements, etc. 


This track, "The Fall into Time" is one of the centerpieces of the album. It is big, demanding and epic. We have always found it intriguing to compose songs like these, think "Neverwhere", "Primal Breath", "The Night Eternal" and "Daggers of Black Haze". It is heavy, mean and dark, as well as almost cinematic in its thematic approach. I have always said that the AT THE GATES listener wants to be challenged and that you hopefully all are as curious as we are when it comes to exploring new musical territory. This song is one of those moments… Enjoy!"


"For the video for this more adventurous track we chose to work again with our dear friend and co-conspirator Costin Chioreanu, as we thought that it required a more arty and avantgarde approach. I was, as always, very intrigued to see what he would come up with, as he has a deep understanding of what AT THE GATES is about. He did not disappoint, and this video is a perfect complement to a song like this. Costin went all the way with this one. Truly inspiring!"


Also check out the previously released videos/singles off "The Nightmare Of Being" here:

"Spectre of Extinction":

"The Paradox":


While main parts for "The Nightmare Of Being" were recorded in Sweden at several different studios – Drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg -, the album was mixed and mastered at Fascination Street Studios (Amon Amarth, Opeth, Kreator, etc.) by Jens Bogren, who has previously worked with AT THE GATES on their "At War With Reality" comeback album from 2014. The album’s visual concept was developed by artist Eva Nahon.


The tracklisting of "The Nightmare Of Being" will be as follows:

  1. Spectre of Extinction
  2. The Paradox
  3. The Nightmare of Being
  4. Garden of Cyrus
  5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
  6. The Fall into Time
  7. Cult of Salvation
  8. The Abstract Enthroned
  9. Cosmic Pessimism
  10. Eternal Winter of Reason


"The Nightmare Of Being" will be available in the following formats:


– Ltd. Deluxe Transparent Blood Red 2LP+3CD Artbook

– Ltd. 2CD Mediabook

– Standard CD Jewelcase

– Standard LP

– Digital Album


The album’s limited deluxe 2LP+3CD Artbook (Photo below!) contains exclusive transparent blood red vinyl on 180g. and will include a 9-track Live LP & CD as well as an exclusive instrumental version of the entire "The Nightmare Of Being" album as bonus CD. It furthermore comes with an extended 32-page booklet, a double-sided A2 poster and 4 art prints. The album’s limited 2CD Mediabook comes with an extended 32-page booklet and a 9-track Live CD as bonus.


The tracklisting for the live bonus will be as follows:

  1. Red (King Crimson cover, Live at Roadburn)
    2. The Scar (Live at Roadburn)
    3. Koyaanisqatsi (Philip Glass cover, Live at Roadburn)
    4. The Burning Darkness (Live at Roadburn)
    5. Daggers of Black Haze (Live in Stockholm)
    6. Death and the Labyrinth (Live in San Francisco)
    7. A Stare Bound in Stone (Live in San Francisco)
    8. Heroes and Tombs (Live in San Francisco)
    9. The Night Eternal (Live in San Francisco)


The standard vinyl version of "The Nightmare Of Being" comes on 180g vinyl and with double-sided A2 poster. It will be available in the following vinyl colour variants and limitations:


Black LP – Unlimited

Transparent Blue LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop and CM Distro Europe

Bright Gold-Deep Blood Red Splattered LP – 500x copies via Amazon Germany

Sky Blue – 300x copies via EMP

White LP – 300x copies via Nuclear Blast

Bright gold LP – 300x copies via Supreme Chaos

Lilac – 300x copies via Napalm Records

Silver LP – 300x copies via Bengans / Sweden

Transparent Petrol Green – 300x copies via Eyesore Merch / UK

Bone Colored LP – 500x copies via Indie Stores / CM USA

Black Ice LP – 300x copies via CM Webshop USA

Ultra Clear LP – 300x copies via Revolver USA

Tan Colored LP – 300x copies via Decibel USA


The various formats are available for pre-order here:

Stay tuned for more news on AT THE GATES and "The Nightmare Of Being" coming soon…


AT THE GATES line-up:

Tomas Lindberg Redant – Vocals

Jonas Björler – Bass

Martin Larsson – Guitar

Jonas Stålhammar – Guitar

Adrian Erlandsson – Drums


AT THE GATES online: