Dust To Come

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Fastball Music, 2020)

Karakter: 4/6

fudge_dust.jpgThe modern-sounding German metal outfit =fudge= recently delivered a hard-hitting slab of groovy, aggressive, and fist-pumping music in the shape of this 14-track effort titled “Dust to Come”, which embodies traits from various different genres such as metalcore and industrial metal (or industrial rock, if you will). While some parts recall Fear Factory and Marilyn Manson, others bring to mind Devildriver and Nine Inch Nails. The industrial and electronic elements are both prominent and at times even dominant with respect to the tone and style of “Dust to Come”. Countless twists and turns abound throughout and these guys sure know how to vary their compositions and keep the listener on his or her toes.

It all sounds thick and heavy, and the record strikes a good balance between the cold and synthetic on one side of the fence and then the organic and raw on the other. In short, the production works for this particular brand of futuristic metal and although the song material is neither THAT innovative or utterly unique as such, I applaud the fact that this skilled act has crafted a solid and entertaining piece of work where the words and music truy correspond to each other. As evidenced by the lyrics and the rather disgusting horror-themed comic book that is included as a bonus with the first 1000 copies of the CD, some interesting albeit timeworn topics and motifs are examined and explored within the tunes. A crushing, confident, and focused opus with a sense of direction and purpose to it, and if you need convincing then check the wildly impressive track named “Thousand” out.


Andre omtaler:

23.11.2020: DARK TRANQUILLITY - Moment
20.11.2020: THANATEROS - Insomnia
19.11.2020: CELESTIAL SEASON - The Secret Teachings
18.11.2020: BESTIAL WARFARE - Desecrating Goat Assault
17.11.2020: IRON MAIDEN - Nights of the Dead, Legacy of the Beast: Live in Mexico City
16.11.2020: KENNETH WOMACK - John Lennon 1980: The Last Days in the Life
13.11.2020: AC/DC - Power Up
12.11.2020: HULKOFF - Pansarfolk
11.11.2020: =fudge= - Dust To Come
10.11.2020: WOBBLER - Dwellers of the Deep
09.11.2020: SIMON GODDARD - Bowie Odyssey 70
06.11.2020: MARK BOALS & RING OF FIRE - All The Best!
05.11.2020: SIMON COLLINS - Becoming Human
04.11.2020: THE MYOPIA CONDITION - Event Horizon
03.11.2020: TERMINAL NATION - Holocene Extinction
02.11.2020: HOLLOW ILLUSION - 2
31.10.2020: DGM - Tragic Separation
30.10.2020: BRUDINI - From Darkness, Light
29.10.2020: SUFFERING SOULS - True Godfucking Soulblight
28.10.2020: CONCRETE - Free Us From Existence