Anmeldt av Eddie Rattlehead
(Fysisk Format, 2020)

Karakter: 4.5/6

Ormskrik.jpgIt is difficult enough a feat to straddle comfortably two genres, but this Sandnes, Rogaland, Norwegian quintet featuring Gjøran Bårdsen (vocals), Anders Skjæveland (guitars), Tormod Hansen (guitars), Erik Bakke (bass) and Kristoffer Fikstvedt (drums) rides on a three horse carriage, Horse 1: Bay Area thrash, Horse 2: Norwegian black metal and Horse 3: Swedish death metal, and there does not seem to be an extended time where one genre dominates a song. To be able to do that as a seasoned band is impressive enough but "Ormskrik" is a debut from a 5 year old ensemble, so that alone is enough for a 4/6 score.
But then there are songs themselves. None deserving less than 4.5, they are all full of melodies and thunderous technical power, such as the "So What" Metallica opener "Occultness", slighly Trivium metalcore-ish "Helheim" or the lengthy progressive closer "Eye For An Eye". As for the progression, it is when Ormskrik really let themselves go in a "who cares what we play" fashion that they really shine as on the fantastic Mercyful Fate-ian "Destroyer Of Worlds" with the excellent acoustic transition in the middle recalling Metallica's "Master Of Puppets" or the old school deathworks a'la Blood Red Throne in "Descend To Madness" and "Deathwind" with plenty ebbs, flows, hooks, solos, almost always driven by some kind of melody.

As with most debuts Ormskrik's eponymous is an unpolished diamond and it shows more of a great potential and skill (such the ability to throw in a simple but a very effective and infectious riff as in "Hecatomb") than fantastic songcraft but these guys are definitely a band to beware and watch for as I foresee them flooring many jaws, including my own, in the future.


Andre omtaler:

11.07.2020: HOUSE OF LORDS - New World – New Eyes
10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence