Anmeldt av Eddie Rattlehead
(Pelagic Records, 2020)

Karakter: 4/6

Lesser Glow_Nullity.jpgThe Boston, Massachusetts sludge/doom post-metal quintet Lesser Glow featuring Alec Rodriguez (vocals), Andrew Nault (guitars), Ben Gram (guitars), Scott Conza (bass) and Seth Botos (drums) is admittedly one of the most original genre purveyors in recent memory on this, their 2nd album, "Nullity", which comes 2 years after their debut "Ruined", but they seem to be experimenting with too many ideas at once which takes toll on the songwriting quality.

On one hand we have Mastodon-ish riffs (The Great Imitator, The Great Filter) bathed in Deathspell Omega-ian and Ulcerate-ian dissonance (Red Ayrag) with some references to Prong's masterpiece "Cleansing" (Versterven). On the other hand we have Opeth-ian/Alice In Chains-ey mood changers/momentum killers (Alone In The Column) which seem to go on forever (Fostering This Nullity) even if they do contain some tasty Depeche Mode-ic key patterns, but, overall, "Nullity" is a frustrating listening experience precisely because it seldom stays in one place. It is when it does that Lesser Glow shines as on the aforementioned "Fostering This Nullity" (toward the end) or on the best track, the closer "Toba" where Alec Rodriguez's frightening vocal performance screams for a Grammy Award.

Just a bit more focus and tightening up of the loose sounds should do the trick next time, but Lesser Glow already has a great potential to go with a very original sound. Check it out, especially the closer.


Andre omtaler:

22.01.2021: DESCEND TO ACHERON - Transcience Of The Flesh
21.01.2021: DISPYT - Under Tiden Jag Sälde Min Själ Till Satan
20.01.2021: JERRY BLOOM - In the Shadow of the Wizard: Rainbow 1975-1976
19.01.2021: ECLIPSE - Viva La VicTOURia: Live in Gothenburg
18.01.2021: BLUE ÖYSTER CULT - A Long Day’s Night (Deluxe Edition CD/DVD)
16.01.2021: ELLEFSON - No Cover
15.01.2021: U.D.O./Das Musikkorps Der Bundeswehr - We Are One
14.01.2021: FOREIGNER - Can’t Slow Down – Deluxe Edition
13.01.2021: HJELVIK - Welcome to Hel
12.01.2021: HEAVY PETTIN - Best of Heavy Pettin
11.01.2021: STEVE HACKETT - A Genesis in My Bed
08.01.2021: VANDEN PLAS - The Ghost Xperiment - Illumination
07.01.2021: MAGIC DANCE - Remnants
06.01.2021: PERSUADER - Necromancy
05.01.2021: PALACE - Rock and Roll Radio
04.01.2021: GODSEND - As The Shadows Fall
23.12.2020: UNRULY CHILD - Our Glass House
22.12.2020: MEER - Playing House
21.12.2020: JEFF SCOTT SOTO - Wide Awake (in My Dreamland)
19.12.2020: AMAHIRU - Amahiru