Icon of Evil

Anmeldt av Eddie Rattlehead
(Selfmadegod Records, 2020)

Karakter: 5.5/6

Icon Of Evil.jpgIn my review of Czerń's excellent "Zgliszcza" album (5/6) I claimed that there was more to the Polish death metal than the Trinity Of Death (Azarath, Behemoth, Vader). Czerń was exhibit A and now these Lower Silesians from Wrocław, Icon Of Evil, featuring Rafał "Mokry" Pietras (vocals), Kamil Folga (guitars), Łukasz "Rapidfire" Małys (guitars), Paweł "Folgin" Folga (bass) and Grzegorz "Grzeło" Brzozowski (drums), have just released their new eponymous EP (May 1st), which comes out 7 years after their debut "Syfilis Mentalis" full length and 20 years after their birth as Evil, changed two years later to a name presumably inspired by Vital Remains' 6th album "Icons Of Evil".

Whether my presumption regarding the band's name is correct or not it would be either happy coincidence or a natural consequence that Icon Of Evil sounds both like Vital Remains and Glen Benton's primary job, Deicide. That is not to say that either "Ojcze Nasz" (Our Father) or "Urojony Bóg" (Imaginary God) lack original thought, but the aforementioned is palpable. Of these 2 tracks which comprise the release, "Ojcze Nasz" is shorter and more intense, starting out in a Black Sabbath-ian/Obituary-ic doom/death fashion, then erupting into the aforementioned Deicide/Vital Remains turned a "Dawn Of Possession" Immolation-ary deathfest finishing of with "Satanica" Behemoth, especially, since Rafał's growls resemble Adam "Nergal" Darski's. The combination is pretty sweet and instantly earns 5.5 from me even before moving on to "Urojony Bóg". The second track is more progressive, starting out as Slayer-ish "ballad" a'la "Seasons In The Abyss", then also battering the witness with Deicide/Vital Remains coctail for an absolutely pulverizing Azarath-ian finish, with excellent riffs, quick transitions and a huge sound.

As you can see from the score, the tracks are not perfect, indeed, a little rough around the edges and transitions could be smoother. But if this little eponymous EP is hopefully a taste of a new album (that is, whenever bands are allowed back in their studios in our wonderful country under the government of the one rightful party) consider my apettite whetted.


Andre omtaler:

21.09.2020: WINTER NIGHTS - Winter Nights
19.09.2020: SNAKEBLADE - The Kingdom
18.09.2020: NAPALM DEATH - Throes Of Joy In The Jaws Of Defeatism
17.09.2020: MARK SPIRO - 2 +2 = 5 – Best Of + Rarities
16.09.2020: DECARLO - Lightning Strikes Twice
16.09.2020: CROWN OF GLORY - Ad Infinitum
15.09.2020: ENDAST - Standby To Get Some
14.09.2020: VALGRIND - Condemnation
13.09.2020: JUDICATOR - Let There Be Nothing
12.09.2020: SKELETAL REMAINS - The Entombment Of Chaos
11.09.2020: BURIED REALM - Embodiment Of The Divine
10.09.2020: BEDSORE - Hypnagogic Hallucinations
09.09.2020: STARMEN - Kiss The Sky
08.09.2020: ANGELCRYPT - Dawn of the Emperor
07.09.2020: LAUGHING STOCK - The Island
06.09.2020: FATAL FUSION - Dissonant Minds
05.09.2020: BLACK ROSE MAZE - Black Rose Maze
04.09.2020: EN MINOR - When the Cold Truth Has Worn Its Miserable Welcome Out
04.09.2020: RAMOS - My Many Sides
03.09.2020: BLUE ÖYSTER CULT - 45th Anniversary - Live in London