Icon of Evil

Anmeldt av Eddie Rattlehead
(Selfmadegod Records, 2020)

Karakter: 5.5/6

Icon Of Evil.jpgIn my review of Czerń's excellent "Zgliszcza" album (5/6) I claimed that there was more to the Polish death metal than the Trinity Of Death (Azarath, Behemoth, Vader). Czerń was exhibit A and now these Lower Silesians from Wrocław, Icon Of Evil, featuring Rafał "Mokry" Pietras (vocals), Kamil Folga (guitars), Łukasz "Rapidfire" Małys (guitars), Paweł "Folgin" Folga (bass) and Grzegorz "Grzeło" Brzozowski (drums), have just released their new eponymous EP (May 1st), which comes out 7 years after their debut "Syfilis Mentalis" full length and 20 years after their birth as Evil, changed two years later to a name presumably inspired by Vital Remains' 6th album "Icons Of Evil".

Whether my presumption regarding the band's name is correct or not it would be either happy coincidence or a natural consequence that Icon Of Evil sounds both like Vital Remains and Glen Benton's primary job, Deicide. That is not to say that either "Ojcze Nasz" (Our Father) or "Urojony Bóg" (Imaginary God) lack original thought, but the aforementioned is palpable. Of these 2 tracks which comprise the release, "Ojcze Nasz" is shorter and more intense, starting out in a Black Sabbath-ian/Obituary-ic doom/death fashion, then erupting into the aforementioned Deicide/Vital Remains turned a "Dawn Of Possession" Immolation-ary deathfest finishing of with "Satanica" Behemoth, especially, since Rafał's growls resemble Adam "Nergal" Darski's. The combination is pretty sweet and instantly earns 5.5 from me even before moving on to "Urojony Bóg". The second track is more progressive, starting out as Slayer-ish "ballad" a'la "Seasons In The Abyss", then also battering the witness with Deicide/Vital Remains coctail for an absolutely pulverizing Azarath-ian finish, with excellent riffs, quick transitions and a huge sound.

As you can see from the score, the tracks are not perfect, indeed, a little rough around the edges and transitions could be smoother. But if this little eponymous EP is hopefully a taste of a new album (that is, whenever bands are allowed back in their studios in our wonderful country under the government of the one rightful party) consider my apettite whetted.


Andre omtaler:

11.07.2020: HOUSE OF LORDS - New World – New Eyes
10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence