Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(SAOL, 2020)

Karakter: 4.5/6

Shark Island Bloodline album cover.jpgUplifting and instantly appealing tunes with an 80s hard rock-vibe straight out of the LA scene is what the musically fiery US veterans Shark Island offer, and this eleven-track record of theirs is just what the good doctor ordered for troubled times like these.

Big riffs and even bigger choruses coupled with real solid vocals and a great energy all around make “Bloodline” one of the more entertaining and spirited albums that I have had the pleasure of reviewing these past couple of weeks. Things are kept simple and there is hardly anything on the disc that is not catchy. In terms of sound and style, these cool dudes are not that far apart from what Guns ‘N’ Roses, L.A. Guns, Mötley Crüe, (early) W.A.S.P., and perhaps even Quiet Riot are doing, but Shark Island are definitely inspired by the giants of (classic) rock from the 70s also.

“Bloodline” is chock-full of hooks and this is undoubtedly what I would deem “good time music” in the sense that there is a positive vibe coursing through it all, but it is varied too and it does have its fair share of moody moments where things turn a little more melancholy and heartfelt. Even the punchy cover rendition of Depeche Mode’s eternally beautiful “Policy of Truth” is convincing and skillfully constructed. The disc does lose a bit of its momentum and excitement halfway through with two or three tunes not being entirely up there with the rest of the ones on the album, but then it picks up again and there is not a single decidedly weak or pedestrian song to be found on the record either, really.  

“Bloodline” is raw, vibrant, and well-crafted rock ‘n’ roll that might not necessarily the set the world on fire or revolutionize kick-ass rock as we know it, but man, this is some charming and memorable stuff indeed, and it does put a huge smile on my face.
Album highlights: “Fire in the House”, “Aktion Is”, “Law of the Order”, and “On and On”.


Andre omtaler:

11.07.2020: HOUSE OF LORDS - New World – New Eyes
10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence