No Monsters in God's Eyes – Act III

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Echozone / Les Disques Rubincon, 2020)

Karakter: 4.5/6

Porn No Monsters in Gods Eyes Act III album cover.jpgDark and brooding, thick and pulsating, the industrial metal rockers named Porn are back and this upcoming 13-track opus of theirs might in fact be their most accomplished and emotionally charged offering to date.

I love how the music brings to mind such wicked bands and artists Depeche Mode, Ministry, Paradise Lost, The Cure, and Nine Inch Nails. “No Monsters in God's Eyes – Act III” is more introspective and moody than previous efforts but carry as much weight and bombast as you would expect from an LP by these guys. I also dig the way in which the whole thing moves from the cold and cynical to the strangely soothing and warm only to slide into a hugely depressing chorus and then all the way back again to something that sounds purposefully lifeless and unpleasant. There is simply a good balance there, me thinks.

With a real solid and suitable production to boot, “No Monsters in God's Eyes – Act III” is an exciting and inspired piece of work that boasts some truly memorable and hook-laden songs in the shape of “High Summer Sun – Part 1”, “Low Winter Hope – Part 2”, “Among Dark Red Roses”, and the volcanic “A Lovely Day”. The dark edge and shimmering sense of menace that lurks around every corner on the disc will thrill you and its industrial soundscapes are as enticing as they are elegantly constructed. Flawless it is not (“Some Happy Moments” and “Mr. Strangler's Last Words” are quite dreadful), but overall, this is a big, meaty, and musically satisfying listen. It is also a most fitting conclusion to their “Mr. Strangler” trilogy.


Andre omtaler:

03.04.2020: SNATCH-BACK - Ride Hard Run Free
02.04.2020: VOODOO SIX - Simulation Game
01.04.2020: DEIFIED - Anthrobscene
31.03.2020: RAIDER - Guardian Of The Fire
30.03.2020: NECK OF THE WOODS - The Annex Of Ire
26.03.2020: AXE TOSS - Deception
25.03.2020: SENESCERE - Alive But Somewhere Else
24.03.2020: IN SANITY - Welcome To The Show
23.03.2020: BAD COMPANY - Desolation Angels (40th Anniversary Edition – Remastered and Expanded)
22.03.2020: ANDRALLS - Bleeding For Thrash
21.03.2020: MYRKUR - Folkesange
19.03.2020: THUNDERSTICK - Something Wicked This Way Came (Live in France)
18.03.2020: KING DUDE - Full Virgo Moon
17.03.2020: BODY COUNT - Carnivore
16.03.2020: FLYING CIRCUS - 1968
14.03.2020: MY DYING BRIDE - The Ghost Of Orion
10.03.2020: LAURA SHENTON - Dance With the Devil – The Cozy Powell Story
09.03.2020: MARTIN POPOFF - Sabotage! Black Sabbath in the Seventies
07.03.2020: PORN - No Monsters in God's Eyes – Act III
04.03.2020: ARS VENEFICIUM - Usurpation of the Seven