Another State of Grace

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Nuclear Blast, 2019)

Karakter: 5/6

black-star-riders-another-state-of-grace album cover.jpgThe fabulous Black Star Riders are back and this brand new offering of theirs oozes class and atmosphere all the way through. Many critics and fans and whatnot still either view or refer to this skilled ensemble as a Thin Lizzy offshoot of sorts, but the fact is that BSR is a tremendously strong and musically rewarding listen with a style and tone of its own – that is for damn sure.

“Another State of Grace” is as diverse and wonderfully melodic as it is memorable and confident. The huge and booming sound of the glorious thing reminds yours truly of some of the greatest classic rock acts of the 70s and 80s, but make no mistake; this 10-track LP is as sharp and current as they come. Boasting superb musicianship, incredibly well-written lyrics, and riveting tunes that crackle with energy and warmth, this album is a must-have if you consider yourself a fan of great and timeless hard rock. It is raw and gritty yet delicate and refined in places too, and it covers a lot of ground. Some songs are a little more adventurous and exciting than others, and the record is not nearly as flawless as its predecessor (“Heavy Fire”), but those are minor issues and the bottom line is that this 2019 output of theirs is an outstanding affair. Favorite cuts: the massive title track, the epic and thought-provoking “Why Do You Love Your Guns?”, and the driven “Poison Heart”.


Andre omtaler:

15.07.2020: ILLUM ADORA - Infernum et Necromantium
14.07.2020: SHADOWFLAG - In Asylum Requiem
13.07.2020: GRAEME THOMSON - Small Hours: The Long Night of John Martyn
11.07.2020: HOUSE OF LORDS - New World – New Eyes
10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth