Dawn of a Crimson Empire

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Folter Records, 2017)

Karakter: 4/6

"Dawn of a Crimson Empire" by the relatively new black metal outfit (they had only existed for a couple of years when they released this record) from Germany that is Halphas is another output from late 2017 that Folter Records mailed our way lately. Even though it may no longer be considered newsworthy as such, it is a most definitely an album deserving wider recoHalphas Dawn of a Crimson Empire album cover.jpggnition, so let us run through this review rather quickly, shall we?

Following an ominous and rather well-crafted ambient-like intro, Halphas more or less unleash an aggressive and highly intense maelstrom of dark and sinister melodies, solid vocals, and a dense aura that encompasses both rage and a beautiful sense of grandeur. I am actually quite surprised by the fact that these foul fuckers have only been conjuring up these epic soundscapes of theirs for a few years, because "Dawn of a Crimson Empire" undoubtedly comes across as a captivating piece of work by what sounds like a group of seasoned pros who have been reveling in proper underground black metal for years. Despite its lack of originality, this record is rich in atmosphere and there is hardly anything to complain about with respect to the musicianship and the production values.

As far as more traditional-sounding black metal albums go, "Dawn of a Crimson Empire" is pretty damn good not to mention varied and catchy. Favorite cuts include the trance-inducing "Through the Forest" (which does indeed evoke a sense of walking through a forest at night) and the majestic "Sword of the Necromancer".


Andre omtaler:

10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence
18.06.2020: IAN PREECE - Listening to the Wind: Encounters with 21st Century Independent Record Labels