Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Folter Records, 2017)

Karakter: 5/6

Corpus Christii album cover.jpgThe Portuguese masters of morose black metal released this mighty impressive slab of bleak music back in 2017, but for some reason none of us at Eternal Terror Live picked up on it back then, so consider this a short, retroactive review, if you will. In honesty though, the physical promo did not show up in the mail box until quite recently, but that is beside the point, I reckon. What matters is that this is quality black metal, folks.

As you enter the dismal gates to "Delusion", what immediately strikes one are the excellent vocals that have plenty of presence and conviction to them as well as the aggressive yet melodic delivery of nearly every cursed tune on the disc. This is a wickedly intense opus that combines melancholy with deep-seated disgust and a solid dose of misanthropy to great effect.

The band adds tension and a subtle hint of drama to the compositions (check "Carrier of Black Holes" out for a good example of this), and the blistering melodies, the raw textures, and the evocative atmospheres present on the record all underline the fact that this talented outfit has come a long way since its inception in 1998 and that Corpus Christii knows perfectly well how to deliver dynamic songs with devastating impact. For an utmost depressive teaser, check the morbid delight that is "I See, I Become" out.


Andre omtaler:

10.07.2020: THE GHOST INSIDE - The Ghost Inside
09.07.2020: ASTRAL WINTER - Perdition II
08.07.2020: NEMESIUM - Continua
07.07.2020: VALDRIN - Effigy Of Nightmares
06.07.2020: PARALYDIUM - Worlds Beyond
05.07.2020: ARABS IN ASPIC - Madness and Magic
04.07.2020: AIRBAG - A Day at the Beach
03.07.2020: LAMB OF GOD - Lamb of God
02.07.2020: COULDRON BLACK RAM - Slaver
01.07.2020: ORMSKRIK - Ormskrik
30.06.2020: ELECTRIC MOB - Discharge
29.06.2020: MAGNUS KARLSSON'S FREE FALL - We Are the Night
26.06.2020: DAVE BALL - Electronic Boy: My Life in and out of Soft Cell
25.06.2020: INTEGRAL RIGOR - Fallen/Brain Blind/Alast
24.06.2020: SOLEMNITY - Through Endless Darkness
23.06.2020: VEGA - Grit Your Teeth
22.06.2020: SPARAGMOS - Invitation From The Host Of Wrath/Mortal Organic Remains
20.06.2020: LESSER GLOW - Nullity
19.06.2020: ARA - Jurisprudence
18.06.2020: IAN PREECE - Listening to the Wind: Encounters with 21st Century Independent Record Labels