Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Art Gates Records, 2019)

Karakter: 4.5/6

OF FIRE Draparen album cover.jpgCrushing and rumbling death with metal with a huge amount of groove to it is what these ugly Swedish fuckers named Of Fire offer. To phrase that differently, big riffs and even bigger choruses that are bound to smash your face in and pounding drums that will inevitably break your bones are what you have in store for yourself here, my dear scummy reader. The sound is thick and massive, the vocals are vile and caustic, and the lethal and murder-soaked tunes are as effective as they are memorable. In some ways, Of Fire are akin to a nasty cross between Entombed Murder Squad, Mr. Death, and Jungle Rot, which goes back to what I stated about "Dräparen" being a groovy affair, but make no mistake; this disc lacks neither power nor brutality. The slower-paced title track is arguably the most atmospheric and unique piece to be found on the cursed thing and yet it is pretty damn savage too. The rather simple and straightforward zombie-feast that is "Undead" also deserves much praise.

In short, this 8-track slice of raw death 'n' roll is a catchy and entertaining output with an honest vibe and a vintage feel to it that is quite appealing. The record also keeps the intensity and momentum up for more or less the entire time that we are in its vicious company, which is obviously a major plus. For a teaser, check the jaw-shattering "Necro Train" or the hook-laden "Let Them Hang" out.


Andre omtaler:

23.09.2019: ZZ Top - Goin '50
22.09.2019: DISPYT - Den Ständigt Närvarande Ångesten
21.09.2019: ABYSMALIST - Reflections Of Horror
20.09.2019: DREW FORTUNE - No Encore!: Musicians Reveal Their Weirdest, Wildest, Most Embarrassing Gigs
19.09.2019: NEPTRECUS - Ars Gallica
18.09.2019: MGŁA - Age of Excuse
18.09.2019: MAVORIM - Aasfresser
17.09.2019: UNBURNT - Arcane Evolution
16.09.2019: THE PRICE - A Second Chance To Rise
15.09.2019: OXX - The Skeleton Is Just A Coat Hanger
14.09.2019: DARKEND - Spiritual Resonance
14.09.2019: YES - Yes 50 Live
13.09.2019: BLOOD RED THRONE - Fit to Kill
12.09.2019: MARTIN POPOFF - Where Eagles Dare: Iron Maiden in the '80s
11.09.2019: ERIDU - Lugalbanda
10.09.2019: GURTHANG - Ascension
09.09.2019: UNMENSCH - Scorn
08.09.2019: Christopher McKittrick - Can't Give It Away on Seventh Avenue: The Rolling Stones and New York City
07.09.2019: ZEROZONIC - God Damn, Better, Best (Daniel Olaisen series)
06.09.2019: BLACK STAR RIDERS - Another State of Grace