Call of the Void

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Godz ov War Productions, 2019)

Karakter: 4.5/6

Evulse.jpgThis neat little 10-minute EP by the Oakland-based Evulse is comprised of four foul and hard-hitting death metal tunes that will pummel you to...well, death. Concise, to the point, and sharp as a fucking razor, these guys are not about to waste your time as evidenced by the explosive and highly charged album opener Hypochondria, which is constantly driven forward by its gut-punching riffs and crushing drum artillery.
The thick and blackened atmosphere of Call of the Wild is strangely appealing yet unsettling, the musicianship is absolutely solid all around, and murky gems such as the frantic Hideous Mound and the twisted title track are a nasty delight to listen to.

Even though the four compositions that constitute this EP are only ten minutes in total, these skilled dudes have managed to conjure up a most vile and sinister aura that countless other bands out there could not have mustered had their lousy lives depended on it. In other words, Evulse are a most welcome surprise to yours truly and capture the very essence of dark and hellish death metal. Fans and fanatics of raw and rotten old-school metal ala Autopsy, Incantation, and Morbid Angel ought to check this one out

Andre omtaler:

24.05.2019: ASSATUR - Where Chaos Reigned
22.05.2019: HANDS OF GOD - Blueprint For Self Destruction
21.05.2019: ONDFØDT - Dödsrikets Kallelse
20.05.2019: DREADNOUGHT - Emergence
19.05.2019: SLUDGEHAMMER - Antechamber
18.05.2019: ÆVINTYR - Gjest Baardsen
17.05.2019: FINAL COIL - The World We Left Behind For Others
16.05.2019: SOULIMAGE - Human Kind – Animal Mind
15.05.2019: ATLASES - Penumbra
14.05.2019: TANKOGRAD - Totalitarian
10.05.2019: PARALLEL MINDS - Every Hour Wounds...The Last One Kills
09.05.2019: WHITESNAKE - Flesh and Blood
08.05.2019: NACHTFALTER - Was Bleibt
06.05.2019: DOOMCULT / TALSUR - Nameless
02.05.2019: WARFIST - Grünberger
01.05.2019: LIGHTFOLD - Deathwalkers
30.04.2019: PIG'S BLOOD - A Flock Slaughtered
29.04.2019: LASTER - Het Wassen Oog