Retribution Therapy

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Mascot, 2019)

Karakter: 4/6

Nine Shrines album cover.jpgUS outfit Nine Shrines is a relatively new band in the sense that it was conceived less than five years ago, but these guys have been creative and prolific since the 2017 "Misery EP" and this upcoming full-length assault of theirs clearly shows that they have developed as musicians and songwriters since then. Musically and stylistically speaking, we are dealing with metalcore, but quite a few other elements have been woven into the band's aggressive albeit highly melodic brand of fiery metal, namely alternative rock and early nu metal (think Powerman 5000 and to a lesser extent Static-X due to the industrial undertones).

Although Nine Shrines pack a punch and offer a competent and dynamic slab of metal, there is not a whole lot of stuff present on the disc that you have not heard elsewhere countless times before, but the cold and sharp sound of the record suits the song material nicely and the musicianship is pretty fucking impressive, so all is well in those two departments. The varied vocals deserve praise too and add color to excellent and bombastic tracks such as "Chain Reaction", "Happy Happy", "Dead", "Pretty Little Psycho", and the infectious "Ghost" with its wicked layers and nuances.

"Retribution Therapy" is not the most exciting or challenging album out there, but it is undoubtedly a focused offering brimming with confidence and a satisfying listen. Fans of metal with a modern sheen to it ought to find it a worthwhile record. Good stuff!



Andre omtaler:

22.04.2019: IRON MAIDEN - 2019 Remasters
18.04.2019: HELHEIM - Rignir
17.04.2019: LUCY IN BLUE - In Flight
16.04.2019: HARMDAUD - Skärvor
15.04.2019: JORDAN RUDESS - Wired for Madness
14.04.2019: DWARROWDELF - Of Dying Lights
13.04.2019: ACCURSED SPAWN - The Virulent Spawn
12.04.2019: S91 - Along The Sacred Path
11.04.2019: BLACK MAGIC - Wizard's Spell
10.04.2019: ROBIN TROWER - Coming Closer to the Day
09.04.2019: FROZEN CROWN - Crowned In Frost
08.04.2019: IRON MAIDEN - 2018 Re-masters
05.04.2019: TNT - Encore - Live in Milan
04.04.2019: NERVENBEISSER - Alles Gut
03.04.2019: ASHEN HORDE - Fallen Cathedrals
02.04.2019: ILLIMITABLE DOLOR - Leaden Light
01.04.2019: EAMONN FORDE - The Final Days of EMI: Selling the Pig
31.03.2019: REEF - In Motion
29.03.2019: VIRCOLAC - Masque
28.03.2019: 1349 - Dødskamp