The Missing Peace

Anmeldt av Jens Nepper
(Frontiers, 2017)

Karakter: 4.5/6

LA GUNS COVER.jpgThe sleaze rockers L.A. Guns are back with a new album entitled "The Missing Peace" consisting of twelve adrenaline-fueled tunes that encompass everything that we have come to associate with the band, i.e. sweaty and energetic hard rock with loads of great hooks to it and in-your-face vocals on top of memorable riffs. The chemistry between Phil Lewis and Tracii Guns is simply undeniable here. Something very cool happens whenever those two guys write songs together and "The Missing Peace" is no exception. Boasting a solid and punchy production, this new record harkens back to the band's glory days in terms of the quality of the songwriting, but it also looks to the future and sounds vital and current. L.A. Guns are back and these fuckers mean business, so beware!

"Speed" is high-octane rock 'n' roll and will melt that ugly face of yours, "A Drop of Bleach" is a groovy beast of a song, "Sticky Fingers" is so goddamn catchy that it hurts, and "Christine" is simply put a great ballad. As gritty and mean as some of the tracks are, there is variety to be found here. While "Baby Gotta Fever" and "Kill It or Die" are like a punch in the gut,"The Flood’s The Fault Of The Rain" shows the slightly more gentle and intimate side to the band's songwriting. "Don't Bring Your Knife to a Gunfight" sounds like an anthem with its huge chorus and awesome vocal melodies. Johnny Martin's rumbling bass lines complement the guitars beautifully and the vocals courtesy of Mr. Lewis are sharp and focused. I dig the fact that the songs have such a rough edge to them as they come off sounding powerful and organic as opposed to weak and sterile.

A couple of songs are a little lacklustre, namely "It’s All The Same To Me" and "The Devil Made Me Do It", but overall, "The Missing Peace" is definitely worth checking out and it is great to see L.A. Guns firing on all cylinders again.

Andre omtaler:

23.06.2018: DYING AWKWARD ANGEL - Absence of Light
19.06.2018: BAN BIANCA - Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is
18.06.2018: GHOST - 1988
18.06.2018: DEADLY CARNAGE - Through the Void, Above the Suns
17.06.2018: LED ZEPPELIN - How the West Was Won (Remastered & Reissued)
16.06.2018: PHANDROM - Victims of the Sea
15.06.2018: VALYRIA - Into The Dying Of Time
14.06.2018: FLORIAN GREY - Ritus
14.06.2018: KING WITCH - Under the Mountain
13.06.2018: MIND ENEMIES - Revenge
13.06.2018: Acârash - In Chaos Becrowned
12.06.2018: INFRARED - Saviours
12.06.2018: KENOS - Pest
11.06.2018: JEFF BECK - Live at the Hollywood Bowl
07.06.2018: SUDDEN DEATH - Stillborn
06.06.2018: SKOGEN - Skuggorna Kallar
05.06.2018: STEELMADE - The Stories We Tell
04.06.2018: COR SCORPII - Ruin
31.05.2018: PLANET EATER - Blackness From The Stars
29.05.2018: NOX INTERNA - A Minor Road