Deity’s Muse release new EP Ennui and unveil video for first single

(Mongrel Records)


Deity’s Muse release new EP Ennui and unveil video for first single Into Their Clutches 

"Expertly crafted prog metal songs full of expanse and raw emotion" - Metal Hammer

Produced by Deity's Muse and Dead Letter Circus guitarist Clint Vincent, Ennui sees the South African progressive alt-rock unit on a song crafting high, delivering fiery, emotional riffs with dynamic, potent grooves, inspired by the collective chaos of the current times. Exploring themes surrounding climate change, anxiety, cancel culture, loss and polarisation, Ennui is a salient reality check buoyed by hope and the desire for balance.

Into Their Clutches, the first single is a melodic alternative rock powerhouse featuring soaring rhythms and guitarwork with a sweeping, anthemic chorus. The dulcet vocals offer a balanced study of the cogs that keep the wheels of political polarisation turning. Easily one of the most arresting and important songs Deity's Muse has released thus far.



Video Credits:

Storyboard: Wayne Boucher

Concept: Wayne Boucher and Sashan Pillay

Directed by: Rob Band (The Creative Cafe) and Wayne Boucher

Postproduction: Kyle Engelsman at The Creative Cafe

Filmed by: Rob Band

Priest wardrobe: Tamara Jeunette


Lonely King - Wayne Boucher

Missionaries- Sashan Pillay & Tamara Jeunette

Priest - Alvin Boucher

Munchausen By Proxy Couple - Kyle Engelsman, Maxine Guarnieri

Congregation extra - Byran Boucher

Special thanks to the Jenkins family for the use of their chapel.

Audio credits:

Produced by Deity's Muse and Clint Vincent

Engineered by Kyle Engelsman, Wayne Boucher and Clint Vincent

Mixed and mastered by Clint Vincent at VinJames Music, Brisbane, Australia


"This is unlike any video we've ever made. Our intention was to come up with an alluring metaphor for the current state of polarisation and collective click-bait thinking driving modern society. We wanted to tell a captivating story in an eerie and cinematic style. Every single shot was meticulously planned beforehand to best represent the lofty subject matter in the lyrics and the flow of the music. I'm really pleased with the results." Explains vocalist and guitarist Wayne Boucher.

Buy / Stream Ennui out now via Mongrel Records https://orcd.co/ennui


About Deity's Muse

After a busy 2019 which saw the release of their acclaimed Lungs Full EP and tours of the UK and South Africa supporting prog-metal pioneers Monuments, a headline performance at 229 in London, a festival slot at UK Tech-Fest and a support slot opening for Ukraine metal machine Jinjer.

Deity's Muse spent most of 2020 writing and recording new music while releasing the dynamic single ‘Erra' and picking up a South African Metal Award for "Best Alternative Band" along the way. Ennui is part two of an evolving EP trilogy concept which will coalesce into the band's next full-length album, their first since 2016's ‘Convergence'. Convergence helped land Deity's Muse appearances at Euroblast 2017, Bloodstock 2018 and its first UK tour which saw them co-headline venues with the highly rated Sümer.


Deity's Muse is:

Wayne Boucher - Vocals, Guitar

Sashan Pillay - Drums

Alvin Boucher - Bass, Backing Vocals

Kyle Engelsman - Guitar, Backing Vocals

Follow Deity's Muse

Website Facebook Twitter



Andre nyheter:

01.12.2021: Black/Cell releases new single
01.12.2021: HAMMERFALL Announce New Album. Title track available now
30.11.2021: MAYHEM spiller på Verkstedhallen i Trondheim
29.11.2021: SUPERLYNX set to release six-track digital EP
29.11.2021: GÅTE slipper albumet NORD den 3. desember
28.11.2021: Supreme Unbeing released new single 'Hide The Beast'
28.11.2021: Michael Schenker's 50th Anniversary: Universal - World Tour
26.11.2021: Die ek - new music video out
21.11.2021: Leprous tour 'From early demos to Aphelion'
21.11.2021: MORTEMIA - New official lyric video
19.11.2021: Navian: Infectious instrumental prog metal - releases debut album
19.11.2021: NERGARD Release Judas Priest Cover
18.11.2021: GLOSON: New Video From Swedish Sludge Post-Metal Band
18.11.2021: NORNA - New single Out
18.11.2021: Animals As Leaders Announce New Album "Parrhesia" Out March 25th
18.11.2021: BESVÄRJELSEN premiere video single of AC/DC cover track 'Back in Black'
17.11.2021: Radar Booking presenterer: 1349 på Parkteatret lørdag 20.11
16.11.2021: Placebo announce new album Never Let Me Go. European Tour 2022 announced
16.11.2021: BORKNAGAR – Launch visualizer clip for 'Dauden (Remaster 2021)'
12.11.2021: MARENE reveal video for new track White Midnight
11.11.2021: UDGÅRDSFEST 2022 IN DENMARK: Program & tickets
11.11.2021: Mantric Momentum - ny single ute
10.11.2021: Wax Mekanix/Troll Teeth - Blunt
10.11.2021: Green Carnation, Turbulence, Kingcrow+more to perform at The Progspace Online
10.11.2021: NAPALM DEATH – Launch new video clip. Announce European Tour in 2022
09.11.2021: DAXMA - to release new album 'Unmarked Boxes'
09.11.2021: Kultbandet MUSTH gjør comeback etter 8 år
08.11.2021: Dark Delirium slipper nytt plate
08.11.2021: SARAH JEZEBEL DEVA Releases 'A Sign Of Sublime' (Redux)
07.11.2021: Legend Trondheim presenterer to ungdomskonserter med Bokassa i Trøndelag