Norwegian rockers DOBBELTGJENGER reveal new video and single

(Karisma Records)

Photo: Jarle H. Moe

Norwegian rockers DOBBELTGJENGER reveal new video and single from upcoming album


Known for their ability to stretch their sound in a variety of different directions, Norwegian Rockers DOBBELTGJENGER recently announced that their latest album "SMOOTH FAILING" was set for release on Karisma Records on the 9th April.  Welcome news indeed for fans who had been waiting three years for new material from a band whose avowed intention is to bring back not just the Groove, but also the Fun, in Rock Music.

And today, with the release of single "BUILDING SKYSCRAPERS",  Karisma Records offers us another glimpse into what to expect from DOBBELTGJENGER's third full-length album.  The image created in the mind's eye by the title of the song itself is very apt for the subject matter,  as the band explains:

Building skyscrapers together with other people and within ourselves takes courage. Meeting and getting close to people is very scary, but incredible and beautiful. The height of the potential fall of a skyscraper and the majestic and impressive nature of them, makes them a perfect metaphor for new and intense relationships.

"BUILDING SKYSCRAPERS", can be streamed or downloaded from a variety of services at https://karismarecords.fanlink.to/dobbeltgjenger_buildingskyscrapers

A video for the single can be seenhere



"BUILDING SKYSCRAPERS" is a totally different animal from the previously released single "JOHANNA", and stands as a clear testament to the different sound that DOBBELTGJENGER's lineup of Vegard Wikne (OCEAN OF LOTION) vocals, guitars, bass and synths;  Sondre Veland (MAJOR PARKINSON & OSSICLES) drums, percussion, grunts and guitar solo on Johanna; Knut-Martin Langeland Rasmussen on guitars;, Bastian Veland on guitar, synth, percussion etc., and Jone Kuven on bass, with Jonas Flemsæter Hamre (session saxophone), are able to bring to the band's music.

With "SMOOTH FAILING" DOBBELTGJENGER have come up with an album that is full of catchy songs and funky rhythms, or, as the band says:

An explosive, dark and neon saturated party album, where naive, riff based "the Strokes-esque" themes are met with vigorous grooves and cheeky falsettos. The album is about the gritty "BOOM!"s, manic "FUN!"s, gut wrenching "OH FUCK!"s and terrifying "I LOVE Y..."s of life.

Of course, "SMOOTH FAILING" is not just about fun, manic or otherwise, and comes with  a darker side, as the band recently revealed:

This album has been brewing on different computers for over three years. The record was written in a quite tumultuous, manic and self-destructive period of primus motor Vegard Wiknes'  life. SMOOTH FAILING revolves around the delight and self-deception of doing all the wrong things in your life. It´s a dark party album, made for bad decisions!

With artwork by Klende, track listing for "SMOOTH FAILING" is as follows:

  4. DIVE IN
  8. LA DEE DA

"SMOOTH FAILING"  will be available in Digital, CD, and Vinyl formats and can now be pre-ordered from the following:

Webshop:  karismarecords.no/shop
Bandcamp: https://dobbeltgjenger.bandcamp.com

DOBBELTGJENGER's previous single "JOHANNA", can be streamed or downloaded from the following  https://karismarecords.fanlink.to/DOBBELTGJENGER_JOHANNA

Whilst the video can be seen below and at https://youtu.be/bieplRiafAA




Karisma Records: http://www.karismarecords.no/

Andre nyheter:

24.02.2021: Nathaniel Shannon and the Vanishing Twin unleash video for Mater Tenebrarum
24.02.2021: Nekromantheon Unleash Skull Splitting New Track 'Thanatos'
24.02.2021: INFERNO 2021 AVLYSES – NYE DATOER FOR 2022
23.02.2021: FLOGGING MOLLY Live from Dublin on St Patrick's day
21.02.2021: BAEST – release new single + new official video
19.02.2021: Dreamshade unveil new single and video
19.02.2021: New single from Nightfyre
19.02.2021: Dust Mice release the video for their new single Choom Wagon
18.02.2021: Hamferð launches new video for "Frosthvarv (Live in the Eysturoy Tunnel)"
17.02.2021: Die ek release self-titled new single and video
17.02.2021: VREID ute med ny singel og video
16.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Release New Single
15.02.2021: DEATH, OBITUARY, former MASSACRE members team up for new band INHUMAN CONDITION
14.02.2021: South African Thrash Machine CHAOS DOCTRINE have released new single
12.02.2021: Razorbats smakebit fra nytt album
11.02.2021: Intelligent Music Project VI 'The Creation'
10.02.2021: Norwegian rockers DOBBELTGJENGER reveal new video and single
07.02.2021: BLACK HILL COVE - new single out
05.02.2021: RAVN - ute med ny singel
05.02.2021: Shevils ute med ny singel idag
04.02.2021: SUPERLYNX reveal details, single and new video from upcoming album
04.02.2021: Deception sitt album 'The Mire' slippes i morgen!
04.02.2021: ROADBURN Redux
03.02.2021: VREID annonserer nytt album. Et konseptuelt verk, slippes med en helaftens film
02.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Announce New EP
29.01.2021: Skambankt slipper nytt album idag
28.01.2021: Swedish Death metal act Pantokrator releases new album January 29th
28.01.2021: Mongolia Honors The HU With Release Of Special Commemorative Coin
27.01.2021: Oooth - video premiere
27.01.2021: Nekromantheon - ny singel ute