SUPERLYNX reveal details, single and new video from upcoming album

(Dark Essence Records)

Photo Carl Eek Torgesen

SUPERLYNX reveal details, single and new video from upcoming album


Dark Essence Records have announced that the 16th April has been set for the release of "Electric Temple", the third full-length album from SUPERLYNX, the Norwegian trio known for its distinctive, genre-defying sound that combines  doom, psychedelic and meditative atmospheres with heaviness and droning rock.

As a taste of things to come, the label has today released both a single, and a video, of the title track. The single is available to download or stream on a number of services at:


Album artwork by Pia Isaksen 

For SUPERLYNX's lineup of Pia Isaksen on  Bass and Vocals,  Daniel Bakken on  Guitars and Ole Teigen on Drums, piano, keys and vocals, "Electric Temple" is both a continuation on from  their previous album "New Moon" and a further development of moods not previously explored by the band.  Poignantly, "Electric Temple" also bears a deeply felt  mark left by the tragic death of a close family member. 

According to the band, the title of the album is a reference to Jimi Hendrix´ way of looking at music. As they explain:

Our music and lyrics are as always very personal to us and refer to what we go through.  Life, music, nature and inspiration is a general focus.  We always want to push ourselves and explore deeper, wider and further and we feel this album shows our effort in that respect.

As Hendrix said "We call our music ‘electric church music'. Because it's like a religion to us." And that is much like how we feel about ours. In music we find so much of what people seek in temples, religions or other spiritual forms - strength to endure trials, peace of mind, ecstasy, safety, hope, community, joy, transcendence etc. In the process of writing our third album this truth only become clearer to us. Music is our temple.

As to the actual technical aspects of the album SUPERLYNX  went to describe how fortunate they were that producer Marc Urselli got in touch with the band wanting to work on the album with them:

He happens to be a multiple Grammy Award win­ning producer who has done sound for Nick Cave, Mike Patton, Lou Reed, Keith Rich­ards, The Black Crowes and countless more.  He also has a project with Lee Ranaldo & Jim Jarmusch, has played in a trio with Stephen O´Malley and has a project with people like Steve von Till, Matt Pike, Lori S, Dave Chandler and more.

But these credits were not what was important to us though.  It was rather the fact that his sound was so in line with what we ourselves hoped to get out of this. Marc ended up mixing the album and we are really happy about how he has enhanced our sound.

The same goes for Fridtjof Lindeman of Strype Audio, who mastered "Electric Temple" as he did for our previous two albums.  He is always a pleasure to work with and does excellent work every time.  

The new video for the single "Electric Temple" can be seen here


Recorded and produced by Ole Teigen in his studio Crowtown Recordings, track listing for "Electric Temple" is as follows:

1. Rising Flame
2. Electric Temple
3. Apocalypse
4. Moonbather
5. Sonic Sacrament
6. Returning Light
7. Laws of Nature
8. Then you Move
9. Siren Sing
10. May

"Electric Temple" will be available in CD,  Digital and Vinyl formats, and can be pre-ordered from the following:

Bandcamp:  https://superlynx.bandcamp.com/album/electric-temple
Webshop:  https://darkessencerecords.no/shop/
US Webshop: https://darkessence.aisamerch.com/

Dark Essence Records: www.darkessencerecords.no

Andre nyheter:

24.02.2021: Nathaniel Shannon and the Vanishing Twin unleash video for Mater Tenebrarum
24.02.2021: Nekromantheon Unleash Skull Splitting New Track 'Thanatos'
24.02.2021: INFERNO 2021 AVLYSES – NYE DATOER FOR 2022
23.02.2021: FLOGGING MOLLY Live from Dublin on St Patrick's day
21.02.2021: BAEST – release new single + new official video
19.02.2021: Dreamshade unveil new single and video
19.02.2021: New single from Nightfyre
19.02.2021: Dust Mice release the video for their new single Choom Wagon
18.02.2021: Hamferð launches new video for "Frosthvarv (Live in the Eysturoy Tunnel)"
17.02.2021: Die ek release self-titled new single and video
17.02.2021: VREID ute med ny singel og video
16.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Release New Single
15.02.2021: DEATH, OBITUARY, former MASSACRE members team up for new band INHUMAN CONDITION
14.02.2021: South African Thrash Machine CHAOS DOCTRINE have released new single
12.02.2021: Razorbats smakebit fra nytt album
11.02.2021: Intelligent Music Project VI 'The Creation'
10.02.2021: Norwegian rockers DOBBELTGJENGER reveal new video and single
07.02.2021: BLACK HILL COVE - new single out
05.02.2021: RAVN - ute med ny singel
05.02.2021: Shevils ute med ny singel idag
04.02.2021: SUPERLYNX reveal details, single and new video from upcoming album
04.02.2021: Deception sitt album 'The Mire' slippes i morgen!
04.02.2021: ROADBURN Redux
03.02.2021: VREID annonserer nytt album. Et konseptuelt verk, slippes med en helaftens film
02.02.2021: Norwegian Black Metallers Nordjevel Announce New EP
29.01.2021: Skambankt slipper nytt album idag
28.01.2021: Swedish Death metal act Pantokrator releases new album January 29th
28.01.2021: Mongolia Honors The HU With Release Of Special Commemorative Coin
27.01.2021: Oooth - video premiere
27.01.2021: Nekromantheon - ny singel ute