(Dark Essence Records)



First released on Misanthropy Records back in 1999, and unavailable for many years, MADDER MORTEM's debut full-length album "Mercury" is getting a brand new lease of life via Dark Essence Records, who will be releasing a re-vamped version to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of its release.

However, since neither MADDER MORTEM nor Dark Essence Records have been known to do things by halves, this will not simply be a straight forward re-release, but will include five new tracks, especially recorded by the band, three of which are from the original album, but which have been re-imagined and re-arranged in a more contemporary manner, and two of which are brand new songs composed using old, Mercury-era, riffs.

The album, with its highly original mix of prog, gothic and doom metal has been re-mastered by Peter In de Betou . Unlike many of its contemporary releases, "Mercury" sounds as fresh and original today as it did 20 years ago, and, to give the legion of MADDER MORTEM fans a taste of what to expect, Dark Essence Records have released a first single from the album.

The single "He Who Longed For The Stars" (2019 re-recording) can be streamed or downloaded from https://darkessencerecords.fanlink.to/MadderMortem_He-Who-Longed


With stunning new artwork by the renowned Romanian artist and Dark Essence label-mate Costin Chiorieanu, "Mercury" will hit the streets on the 6th September in CD, Digital and Vinyl formats, and the Vinyl edition will come as a package which will include the full CD. "Mercury" is now available to pre-order from the following:

CD, LP, Digital: https://maddermortem.bandcamp.com/album/mercury-20th-anniversary-version
CD, LP: https://www.darkessencerecords.no/artists/madder-mortem/

Track listing on "Mercury" is as follows:
Under Another Moon
He Who Longed For The Stars
These Mortal Sins
The Grinding Silence
Misty Sleep
Bonus tracks:
He Who Longed For The Stars (2019 re-recording)
The Grinding Silence (2019 re-recording)
Remnants (2019 re-recording)
Shadows Coming Home




And, if all that were not enough, the Madders have also planned a very special Anniversary show which is set to take place the day after the album's release, at the Parkteatret in Oslo, Norway, on the 7th September. As the band recently explained:

We are bringing the former members of Madder Mortem back to the stage, to share the different eras with you all, as well as some surprise guests. We’ve chosen a set list that includes some fan favourites and some very rarely heard songs, as well as some of the bonus tracks from the re-release. The outstanding Costin Chioreanu is creating original paintings for songs from the set, and the filmed creation of those paintings will add a stunning visual element to the show. Costin will also exhibit his original paintings at the show, to give you a close look at his visual interpretation of the Madder music. And there might be more surprises along the way.

Tickets for the Anniversary show are available from https://www.ticketmaster.no/event/612291 and further information can be found on the Facebook Event 







Andre nyheter:

21.11.2019: Dutch doom merchants ONHOU reveal the video for new track Dire
15.11.2019: Thread of Omen release crushing new EP
13.11.2019: DEEP PURPLE til Tons Of Rock
10.11.2019: AMARANTHE spiller på USF Verftet
10.11.2019: DØDHEIMSGARD spiller på BLÅ, Oslo
10.11.2019: Max & Igor Cavalera spiller på Rockefeller
06.11.2019: RIVAL SONS spiller på Forum Scene i Bergen
04.11.2019: Alt-rockers The Color Blew reveal the live video for new track The Man
04.11.2019: PUSSY RIOT spiller på Parkteatret
03.11.2019: NORWAY ROCK 2020 - første band klare
01.11.2019: HYPNO5E Video Premiere
01.11.2019: The Drift - cover reveal and new track stream
01.11.2019: POWERWOLF spiller på Rockfeller
29.10.2019: KING - new single and lyric video premiere
29.10.2019: Gluecifer x 3 // Rockefeller 7.–9. november
29.10.2019: ALTER BRIDGE spiller på Sentrum Scene i Oslo
28.10.2019: Legend Halloween-weekend
26.10.2019: Tribulation launches live video from upcoming DVD
25.10.2019: 70000TONS OF METAL: First 10 bands announced
24.10.2019: Blodsmak / Ravn: Kruttsterk eventyrblanding
23.10.2019: ALL THIS, FOR NOTHING - unveil new video
23.10.2019: POD + Alien Ant Farm på Rockefeller
23.10.2019: ZEAL&ARDOR spiller på Parkteatret
23.10.2019: TANGERINE DREAM spiller på Rockefeller
23.10.2019: BRUTAL ASSAULT - bands update
22.10.2019: DIRTY MOONSHINE - premieres video for new single
22.10.2019: RAGNAROK - new single from upcoming album
21.10.2019: GÅTE ute med ny singel
21.10.2019: NORDIC FEST
16.10.2019: Refused klare med nytt album