RUFF MAJIK releases new album today

RUFF MAJIK releases new album today

Photographer Christelle Duvenage


3rd May 2019 – Today sees the release of Tårn the new album from South African psychedelic stoner sludge trio Ruff Majik. Already making a name for themselves after the release of Seasons in early 2018, the band have their red eyes set for the hazy horizon with this release. Recorded, produced and mixed by long-time collaborator Evert Snyman from Backline Studios in Johannesburg and mastered in the US by Brad Boatright from AudioSiege in Portland (Skeletonwitch, High on Fire, Mantar).

“We’re super excited to finally release Tårn and start our partnership with Lay Bare Recordings! We poured our blood, sweat and soul into this one, and mixed it all together in our trusty majik cauldron.”- vocals/guitars, Johni Holiday

The album has already received glowing reviews from international media.

 “Without mucking about, the album opens with fire and putrid brimstone, announcing to all and sundry that the gloves are off and the fight has moved to the grimy street corner.”  PureGrainAudio

“Tårn perfectly captures Ruff Majik undeniable reckless spirit and that is what makes the album so damn good”. Outlaws of the Sun

 “There’s some cool shit happening here”. The Obelisk


“Ruff Majik are a classic kinda power-trio, and in true power trio style, they all know their lines, and kick the tune right in the guts at just the right time whilst pushing the drive hard.” Desert Highways



A preview single, Schizophrenic is available on all digital platforms.

Find Ruff Majik on Spotify Deezer Google Play Apple Music  Bandcamp 

About Ruff Majik

In a small, secluded mining town in rural South Africa, three friends heard the call of the void, and spat fuzz back at it. Thus, Ruff Majik was formed, and the boys decided it was time to move to the city to spread their gospel of riff worship and sound sorcery.

Ruff Majik moved out to Pretoria, South Africa, where they’ve become infamous for their lively shows and aggressive on-stage persona. With their brand of what they call “sludge ‘n roll”, they move between slow grooves and breakneck speeds in the blink of an eye, with live shows being described as ‘whiplash inducing’.

The members are Johni Holiday (guitar/vocals), Jimmy Glass (bass guitar) and Ben Manchino (drums).

The band surfaced in 2015 with the release of their first 6 track, The Bear. This got them lots of attention from reviewers all over the world. They quickly followed up with The Fox in 2016, that got them into Classic Rock Magazine with the song ‘Sodoom and Gomorrah’ as well as 104 000 views on the YouTube stream of the full album. In 2017, Ruff Majik rounded off the animal trilogy with "The Swan", which introduced a heavier side to their sound previously unheard but very much welcomed by fans. Swiftly, after this release, they got to work on the follow up album "Seasons", which was released in four segments (The Hare and the Hollow, A Finch in a cherry tree, A Dragon and his hoard, The Stag in the leaves) one per season, over the stretch of a year.

Now there’s more coming your way, and it’s going to be heavier than ever before.

Ruff Majik is a power trio, a stoner juggernaut, and they bring good times with them wherever they go.



Order on vinyl Here

Order digital Here


Ruff Majik will be spending celebrating the release of the album with their European Siege 2019 tour which will see them playing various festivals over the next couple months including Sonic Whip on 4th May and Bevrijdigings Fest on 5th May both in the Netherlands, Smoke over Warsaw on 15th June in Poland, Rock in Bourlon on 28th June in France, Swamp Fest on 6th /7th September in France and Keep it Low on 11th /12th  in Germany. Lots more shows to be announced.




Track Listing:
1. Schizophrenic
2. Gloom & Tomb
3. I’ll Dig the Grave
4. Dread Breath
5. Heretically Happy
6. Speed Hippie
7. Seasoning the Witch

Line Up:
Vocals/Guitar – Johni Holiday
Bass – Jimmy Glass
Drums – Ben Manchino