ABSU med ny line up og ny skive

ABSU med ny line up og ny skive

ABSU Announces New Line-Up; New Album Details – May 17, 2007

Drummer/Vocalist Proscriptor from the mythological occult metal outfit ABSU has issued the following statement:

"After 5 years of silence, I am pleased to announce the new line-up of ABSU. It was a difficult task to replace both Shaftiel and Equitant after being together for nearly 11 years, but now is the time to carry on. Here is the new reorganization of the band:

Proscriptor McGovern – Percussives, Mellotron, Voices & Lyrical Magick
Vastator Terrarum – Guitars, Bass Guitar, Analog Synthesizers & Backing Voices
Aethyris MacKay – Guitars, Bass Guitar, Analog Synthesizers & Backing Voices

We have begun composing and arranging the material for what will be known as the self-titled album, simply called "Absu." In 2002, 4 out of 16 tracks were written; 2 of them we're keeping while the other 2 we're abandoning. We will begin recording in the latter part of autumn 2007 or early 2008 anticipating a release before June 2008 for Osmose Productions/The End Records.

"Absu" projected track listing: (in no particular order)

  1. Night Fire Canonization
  2. Girra's Temple
  3. Amy
  4. In the Name of Auebothiabathabaithobeuee
  5. 13 Globes
  6. Voor
  7. Twix Yesterday, The Day & The Morrow
  8. Between the Absu of Eridu & Erech
  9. Those of the Void Will Re-Enter
  10. Magick Square Cipher
  11. Sceptre Command
  12. Nunbarshegunu
  13. Diversified Signs Inscribed
  14. Our Earth of Black
  15. Ye Uttuku Spells
  16. …Of the Dead Who Never Rest in Their Tombs is the Attendance of Familiar Spirits…


Absu_1.jpgLyrically, I am concentrating more on Sumerian-based occult themes of magick and mythology versus the Celtic aspect of my previous writings, which was heavily expressed on the last few ABSU studio albums. Musically speaking, the material will be quite similar to "Tara," but with more of a 70's progressive/psychedelic texture within it. You will not be disappointed – trust me. I will be utilizing the first logo created by Equitant and Belgian artist Kris Verwimp will handle the cover illustration once again."

In other news, Osmose Productions/The End Records will re-release a remastered digipack version of the last studio album, "Tara," including the EP "In the Eyes of Ioldánach" as bonus tracks, which will be released in September.