The Further Side

Anmeldt av Matt Coe
(Metal Blade, 2017)

Karakter: 5/6

novacollective_thefurthersidecover.jpgA Trans-Atlantic collaboration between two sets of musicians in America and England, Nova Collective on their debut album "The Further Side" explores the jazzy/fusion progressive rock side of things with occasional bursts of heaviness. Guitarist Richard Henshall of Haken and bassist Dan Briggs of Between the Buried and Me started the group - recruiting keyboardist Pete Jones (ex-Haken) and drummer Matt Lynch (Trioscapes, Cynic) - at first sharing files back and forth until meeting up in 2015 to work on the album recording together.

What can the listener expect? Dazzling fusion sequences, advanced playing, and yet even with longer song structures (half the album hitting that nine-minute timeframe), there's a sense that Nova Collective wanted to maintain a semblance of continuity and groove as the bass, guitar, keyboards, and drumming ebbs and flows. Songs like "Dancing Machines" and "State of Flux" challenge, intoxicate, keeping your ears on the edge of anticipation for the next measure, time change, and where the quartet aim to take you on this aural journey to the stars. It's on the lighter side as far as distortion means, but titillating on the progressive side, as you'll often hear two or more of these musicians synchronize in unison that gives this a strong jazz/fusion ambiance.

Progressive-minded folks will devour "The Further Side" - given the activity of these gentlemen in other groups, we can only hope that a follow-up record could appear on the landscape maybe before this decade's end. Good from the first listen to the latest.





Andre omtaler:

24.05.2017: HAREM SCAREM - United
24.05.2017: KALEDON - Carnagus – Emperor of the Darkness
23.05.2017: INFERNO - Gnosis Kardias (of Transcension and Involution)
22.05.2017: ERUPTION - Cloaks of Oblivion
21.05.2017: HERZPARASIT - ParaKropolis
20.05.2017: EARTH ELECTRIC - Vol 1: Solar
19.05.2017: COMANIAC - Instruction for Destruction
18.05.2017: SNAKECHARMER - Second Skin
17.05.2017: WOLFHOWL - The Purity Of Mother Nature
17.05.2017: EVIL MADNESS / INFANT DEATH - Evil Madness / Infant Death
16.05.2017: DANZIG - Black Laden Crown
16.05.2017: EXALTER - Obituary for the Living
15.05.2017: MIDNIGHT RIDER - Manifestation
15.05.2017: GRID - Human Collapse Syndrome
14.05.2017: DISTILLATOR - Summoning the Malicious
13.05.2017: SPOIL ENGINE - Stormsleeper
12.05.2017: DIABOLOS - Cannibal Darkness
11.05.2017: INGLORIOUS - Inglorious II
10.05.2017: RITCHIE BLACKMORE'S RAINBOW - Stranger in Us All (Expanded Edition)
09.05.2017: THE DEAD DAISIES - Live & Louder